Advice on getting dyed black hair back to bleach blonde?

Discussion in 'General Advice' started by afarewelltokings, Nov 10, 2019.

1. afarewelltokings

afarewelltokings the internet's #1 Julia Child fan

So I had dyed my hair black, but now I completely regret it and want it back to blonde so I can do a different color. What do yall think would be the best approach to getting it back to that dye-able stage without killing my hair even further?

2. artistformerlyknownasdave

artistformerlyknownasdave revenge of ricky schrödinger

ooooof, witnessed. disclaimer, i'm far from a hair expert and there are likely people on here more knowledgeable than me!

but i have had my hair dyed black for over a year now (summer of 2018). i use box dyes currently and have it done at home, but i had it done in a salon initially. i had to convince my stylist to dye my hair black--they tried to talk me into a dark brown--and that's because of exactly the scenario you're describing. black dye is notoriously hard to get out of hair--i re-dye mine about once a month to touch-up roots, don't use any color preserving shampoo, and wash with hot water, and notice very little if any fade between touch-ups--and anything you do is going to damage it pretty severely.