Appropriateness check

Discussion in 'General Advice' started by Emma, Jul 24, 2015.

1. Emma

Emma Your resident resident

I am a medical student as some of you might know. Currently I am in my surgery rotation.
    Today in the OR I had a chance to put a urinary catheter in a male patient. During the procedure the surgeons in training was gisting me advice. (this might not translate very well, but I hope you get the gist). I was holding the patients penis and it was slipping from my hand, he said: 'pull on it more' and then added: 'just like at home'

It made me sort of uncomfortable, though it was also sort of funny...

2. Emma

It made me feel sort of uncomfortable, because on the one hand: What the hell do I know about holding penises. I have never been in possession of one, nor did I ever handle one before. And the ones on the practice puppets certainly weren't this slippery.

On the other hand: how is he supposed to know that? Also, it was sort of funny because he does possess a penis, and I also happen to know that he is a gay male with a boyfriend.

Ugh. It feels like it was inappropriate/bordering on sexual harassment, but then, I am never ever going to say something about it, probably. Ugh, emotions are weird.

3. rigorist

rigorist On the beach

Pretty sure anyone whose job is to cut into living human bodies and mess around with the goop the rest of us prefer to keep inside our skin is gonna be weird.

4. hoarmurath

hoarmurath Thor's Hammer

That's inappropriate, unless you have a very jokey relationship that involves such humor, I would think.

5. Lissiel

Lissiel Dreaming dead

Suspect it was a failed attempt to ease an inherently awkward situation through humor.

• Like x 2
  6. Beldaran

Beldaran 70% abuse and 30% ramen

Bleh, I'd feel weird about it because while you have consent to be touching and putting things in the patient's bits, you don't exactly have permission to make it sexual if that makes any sense.