How to be a good support for a manic person?

Discussion in 'Braaaaiiiinnnns...' started by paladinkit, Nov 9, 2020.

1. paladinkit

paladinkit brave little paladin

Hey, so I am dealing with a mental health situation that, for once, I have no relevant past experience with. I could really use insight from people who have manic episodes or people who are close to people with manic episodes about just... like... literally any advice for Best Practices that you have.

My girlfriend, who has formal diagnoses for depression & anxiety, and probable diagnoses for BPD, autism &/or ADHD (she was in the process to get evaluation but, well, this happened), also recently got a sleep study done & was prescribed a new medication to help with her hypersomnia. Unfortunately, she went into a manic spiral instead. Discontinuing medication on Friday hasn't made a difference so far, and now she's at the hospital, last I heard being evaluated for inpatient.

I'm functionally long distance due to COVID, so I have been trying to field this all through video calls and chatting. This hasn't been the best medium for making myself understood when I had concerns last week, or with understanding anything she's trying to tell me. Her live in boyfriend is in various waiting rooms at the hospital, basically feeling awful and hopeless, and I don't know what to do.

TL;DR my LDR girlfriend is in the hospital for a medication induced manic episode. Of course I'm going to try to ask her these questions once she can communicate, but I'd appreciate input on the following:

How do I be helpful as a long distance girlfriend once she's out? How seriously am I supposed to take anything she said while manic? In the future, if I'm concerned someone is having a full manic episode, how can I effectively communicate concern or that their perception seems to be slipping?

I'm sorry if I'm saying anything hurtful or problematic, I'm much less well educated about mania than I am depression or trauma issues.