How to deal with angry people?

Discussion in 'Braaaaiiiinnnns...' started by Secret Squirrel, Sep 14, 2015.

1. Secret Squirrel

Secret Squirrel certainly something

Disclaimer: This is not about other people/whether or not their anger is justified/healthy. This is about my (unhealthy?) reaction as a witness to it.

I am not good at watching people be angry! I can usually stand my ground if people are angry at me, but watching someone be angry at someone else makes me want to melt into a sad puddle. It punches me fight/flight response and I either need to solve everything (which is impossible) or runaway and hide (and deal with guilt for not being able to do the impossible). I used to try to solve all the problems forever, but I've come to accept there's no magic words to make everything better, so I usually choose the running away.

I'm worried I'm conditioning myself to run away from anger every time, and making myself even more sensitive to signs of anger. I know it's not my job to make everyone happy or even my business to try, but it seems like there should be a middle ground.

Is there a way to constructively approach witnessing anger?

• Like x 1
  2. Wiwaxia

Wiwaxia problematic taxon

//would also like an answer to this

• Like x 2
  3. blue

blue hightown funk you up

oh my god! me too. you make an important distinction about the "can deal with anger directed at ME, but other people.. nope"

(I can't even deal with like! mild disagreement! just people disagreeing and being snippy about it! help)

• Like x 2
  4. Secret Squirrel

Okay, at the very least, we know we are not alone with this reaction. (I mean, I didn't think I was, but it always nice to know for sure that other people know what I mean.)