The Weirdest PTSD Trigger [TW]

Discussion in 'Braaaaiiiinnnns...' started by Pascaline, Mar 2, 2016.

1. Pascaline

Pascaline Member

I apologize in advance if this is not where this thread goes or if it's inappropriate but I wanted to share what I thought was a weird trigger and thought, if others liked, to share triggers that they possess. Also trigger warning for mention of child abuse.

I was diagnosed with PTSD three years ago and since then have gotten a pretty good grip on what triggers me so I can actively avoid it. Stories of child abuse where the child was beaten with a similar object, talking about abuse to children in general, anything bad happening to a child in a show or on screen (strangely enough I love Hunger Games though)... basically anything that brings me back to my not so happy childhood.

Then yesterday the strangest thing happened. I'm a preschool teacher and yesterday when I transfered my class over to another for music class I was hit with the stench of dirty kitty litter.

Holy shit.

I started to shut down and I was back in one of our old apartments, where we had four cats and a disgusting litter box my mom never cleaned (our house wasn't any better). I just sat down on the floor of my class and let one of the kids sit in my lap so I had some anchor to reality. I refuse to break down and cry in front of my class so I knew staying was better for me. Two other teachers asked if I was OK because I'm usually very cheerful but they noticed I had gotten upset.

The music teacher singing helped a lot and the smell went away. One of the kids in the class was on antibiotics and antibiotics makes your poop look and smell very strange.

I would have never considered dirty litter smell to be a trigger but there it is. Afterward I felt really dumb that something like that had been a trigger but honestly we can't control what can be a trigger.