Adventures in mental health

Discussion in 'Braaaaiiiinnnns...' started by spockandawe, Nov 15, 2016.

1. spockandawe

spockandawe soft and woolen and writhing with curiosity

Question. How can you tell if you start experiencing some of those negative side effects medicines warn you about? Like, how do you differentiate it from your body doing sketchy things on its own?

I've never done brain drugs before, but I'm on about day five of wellbutrin+adderall, and things have been going mostly well, but I'm feeling a nasty dizzy disconnect thing right now. It's not too different from being drunk. Everything else about my brain/body is somewhere between normal and better-than-normal. Confounding factors: I am just coming off the tail end of being sick, I am chronically short on sleep, I haven't eaten yet today, and I have not yet fed my caffeine addiction today.

I'm well enough to scrape by at work and this has been a short badtimes so far, but if things slide further, I live alone. And if this persists, I'm worried about driving. People with more experience with brain drugs than me, how do you know when to call your doctor's office?

2. budgie

budgie not actually a bird

My bad side effects have been more emotional than physical, but basically I called my doctor when the bad symptoms persisted despite 1) giving it some time and 2) me changing the other obvious causes. Obviously you can't change much about being chronically short on sleep (and I'm assuming that's not how you normally feel when you're short on sleep), but what I would do is go get something to eat, have some caffeine, and give yourself a little bit longer to recover from being sick/adapt to the drugs. If your clinic has a nurse hotline, you could call for some reassurance, too.

• Like x 1
  3. applechime

applechime "well, you know, a very — a very crunchy person."