How Does One Bar

Discussion in 'General Advice' started by Gee, Mar 26, 2017.

1. Gee

Gee the mail never fails

I've never been in a bar before. My fiancé wants to go to some local bar that has an assload of video game consoles hooked up and play games while doing an alcohol with lots of friends. This is a post-birthday celebration for him.

Thing is tho like. I have all these conceptions of bar social rules bc of media and stories from family, but I've never done a bar before, myself. He really wants me to go but I don't think I'd be able to handle the environment / overwhelming anxiety of not knowing wtf to do or say or how to act.

I figured some other people might like the insight on How To Bar, so feel free to skip personal advice to me and go for the general.

2. KingStarscream

KingStarscream watch_dogs walking advertisement

Okay so, with the caveat that all the bars I've been to have been pretty small and lowkey, there's not really any actual rules that differ from how you would act in a restaurant or an arcade? You're going with your fiance and friends, so you aren't actually expected to Do A Social if you have no interest in it-- if you've done big group birthday parties before, that's a good protocol to follow. Since the video games are part of the appeal here, I think picturig the bar as like... a friend of a friend's house for a big drunken video game party is a good way to try and bleed of anxiety over media expectations.

More generally, I'm finding that most bars aren't nearly as... social? as I expected them to be. If you wanna just chill with your friends in a corner or by yourself, that's totally okay. Which is a HUGE RELIEF for me, ngl.

• Like x 3
  3. Elph

Elph capuchin hacker fucker