My pens! Let me show them to you!

Discussion in 'General Chatter' started by rigorist, Feb 18, 2017.

1. rigorist

rigorist On the beach

I have been buying cheap Chinese fountain pens for a couple months now. They are really cheap and a lot of fun. I don't think I paid over $4.50 for any single pen and most were around $2.00.

"Serious" fountain pen people will say they are crap (and some of them aren't very good), but they are still really fun!

Most of the hoard:
    STA74725.JPG

Another shot:
    STA74726.JPG

Some pretty ones (but not really good writers). Two Baoer 3023 (one black and one silver) and a Jinhao X750 (super heavy and impressive looking, but doesn't write very well)
    STA74729.JPG

Some that I actually use: Jinhao 588, two Hero 616, Hero 329 (I like this one a lot), Hero 926, Baoer 388. STA74730.JPG

The Hero 616s are the cheapest (a little under $1.00 each) but they are some of the best writers. Go figure.

Last edited: Feb 18, 2017
    • Like x 20
  2. seebs' mom

seebs' mom Yes, really!

And a fancy notebook too?

3. rigorist

rigorist On the beach

ZLYC Traveler's Notebook I use when I'm going low tech for legal observing for the NLG.

4. Carrickfergus

Carrickfergus abstractor of the quintessence

Your pens are rad. I have the one that's red with the little window to see the ink cartridge through. It is strapped to my Alpha Notebook, which is the one I take with me everywhere whose function is to let me record important shit.

Can we see some samples of how they all write? Do they all write?

Also...

venspens1.jpg
    These ones are for writing, linework, and highlighting.

venspens2.jpg
    BEHOLD, MY GEL PENS. These are for making every hand-written document I produce explode with color. Sometimes glittery color.

venspens3.jpg
    These are my old-timey dip pens, tips, and inks. I've had this box since I was like... 14 or so, I guess? ...the pens and tips have been collected over all that time.