quick reality check re: depression

Discussion in 'Braaaaiiiinnnns...' started by theambernerd, Nov 1, 2016.

1. theambernerd

theambernerd dead to all sense of shame

So like, I feel a lot of depression symptoms when I'm in school. Like, detachment, inability to concentrate, feeling like all my work is worthless, extreme executive dysfunction (It has taken me ~4 hours today to take notes on like 8 pages of anatomy lesson with 2-5 paragraphs each page), i get less interested in my interests, and occasionally dissociate and stop feeling like i'm totally real or in control of my actions

buuut i have never had any of those symptoms near as extreme when out of school (to be fair, a thing that I have only been during summer months so far in my life, im in my last year of college and have never taken breaks from school). Like, my mood lifts, I'm able to socialize at least, and I've only ever dissociated or felt other spirals when there's other stressful things happening. The only thing that stays is the executive dysfunction (my record for functioning is managing to do about 3 hours of drawing per day for a week or two when i was trying REALLY HARD to be productive this last summer; i had literally no other responsibilities and on average left the house about a half hour per day to go on a walk with my mom)

so like. does it still count as depression bad enough that i should go get evaluated by a psychiatrist for diagnosis and talk about meds?
    like, i feel like i can't fix my executive dysfunction problem on my own rn because i'm just so exhausted by the pressure of homework all the time that its super difficult to get started and do the thing. but. is it something i shoudl medicate if its specific to like, doing schoolwork, which will soon become a non-thing?
    note that ive never held a job (other than a 2 week state fair job) so i have no fuckin clue what job stress will do to my brain

idk i just feel weird about taking my issues this seriously

2. theambernerd