A Question About Patreon

Discussion in 'Make It So' started by OtherCat, Oct 17, 2016.

1. OtherCat

OtherCat a being of mysterious happenstance

As always, if this is the wrong forum, let me know what would be a better forum. (Also, is it actually possible to move a thread too a different forum, or do I just delete and repost elsewhere?)

So I have seen some fan writers who have Patreons. This is somewhat interesting to me as I am a fan writer and I am underemployed and would like money. Is there anyone where who is both a) a writer or fan writer b) who has a Patreon c) who would like to answer some questions about Patreon?

I am thinking of maybe starting a Patreon, and kicking it off to my Occasional Attempt to Do Nanowrimo.

So questions:

While I do have a donation thingie via Paypal on my blogs, Patreon seems a little more officially getting paid to write fanfic, which to my understanding is Bad and Wrong. How does this work legally?

From my understanding, it's possible to make some things available only through Patreon. Is it like one of those pay-to-read sites?

How difficult is it to set up Patreon, and how do I get the entirely theoretical money?

2. Greywing

Greywing Resident dead bird

(I'm an artist, not a writer, so I'm not answering the writing-specific questions)
    • You make "creator posts" on patreon with whatever content you want. You can designate how public or restricted each individual post is. You can make a post that anyone who visits your patreon page can see, or a post that only patrons can see (regardless of how much they pledged), or a post that only people who pledged (for example) $5 and up can see, and so on. You can post art, audio files, documents, links to dropbox folders, put your fanfic in the text of the post itself, etc.