FOR SCIENCE!

Discussion in 'General Chatter' started by Wiwaxia, Feb 23, 2015.

1. Wiwaxia

Wiwaxia problematic taxon

Science thread? Science thread.

Drop your science news, your science fun facts you just learned and your no-holds-barred science sperging here.

I'll start us off! Apparently turtles have been classified as archosaurs (that's the group of the vertebrate family tree with your dinosaurs (including birds), your crocodiles, your pterosaurs (Pteranodon and those guys) and a few weird other groups) based on a recent genetic analysis. This is kinda a big deal because turtles have been in "where do they go" taxonomic limbo for a while now, and also because turtles rock and archosaurs rock.

I'm also researching turbidity currents (underwater landslides, basically) in Monterey Submarine Canyon for a paper in my Sedimentology and Stratigraphy class, so I may have some cool things to say about that soonish (if I can actually digest these papers @_@).
    I'm studying geology, as you may have guessed, and I'm pretty much always up to talk about rocks and fossils and weird animals, so feel free to hit me up for that!

Alright, have at it!

• Like x 1
    • Informative x 1
  2. Starcrossedsky

Starcrossedsky Burn and Refine

ROCKS. fossils and rocks.

I'm an ex-biology major by trade though so I tend more towards "oh look it's alive and squishy" but rocks are so cool. I love rocks.

Obligatory fact: octopus tentacles are chemotactile. They taste with those things.

• Like x 1
    • Informative x 1
  3. Wiwaxia

Gosh, we sure seem to like a lot of the same things. :V

I'm also a big fan of the alive and squishy, although my heart of hearts belongs to the dead and once-squishy, as you can doubtless tell.

Incidentally, I just learned today that my vertebrates professor named a frog after Bill Watterson, which makes me happy on several levels.

• Like x 3
  4. emythos

emythos Lipstick Hoarding Dragon

:D
    I'm a current bio major, and it's fascinating!