Freshwater Fish Keeping AMA!

Discussion in 'General Chatter' started by Alska, Jan 16, 2017.

1. Alska

Alska Well-Known Member

I've been keeping small freshwater fish for about 4 years now, and would love to answer questions about it!

Most of my knowledge is focused around invertabrates such as shrimp and snails and around betta fish, but I know a fair amount of general fishkeeping stuff as well. And if I don't have an answer, I'm happy to research for you!

Things you could ask:
    What is required for a basic tropical aquarium?
    What is aquarium salt even for?
    Why do I have algae?
    What are these tiny things in my tank?
    What is your favorite type of betta?
    Where is a good place to buy fish?
    What is this fish?[pic]

And honestly anything else you wanna ask me, including opinion questions. I promise to do my best to be thorough and can provide pictures if asked! If you have a specific question about your aquarium though, i do ask that you provide as much info as you can as far as size, temp, and water conditions, so I can accurately assess the situation

Last edited: Jan 19, 2017
  2. Aondeug

Aondeug Cringe Annoying Ass Female Lobster

how do i not kill lobsters or crawfish

3. Alska

Alska Well-Known Member

@Aondeug
    Well, what is happening to them(do they just die? Do they get fuzzy growths on them?), and are they wild caught or fancy ones?
    The first thing that comes to mind is that your tank may not be cycled. Cycling is the process of good bacteria building up in your tank's substrate and filter media. These bacteria convert ammonia produced by your animals into nitrite, and then into nitrate, which is much less harmful even at somewhat higher concentrations.

... And it just occured to me that you might just be asking about their care at all!