hey what's up i'm a machinist

Discussion in 'Your Bijou Blogette' started by Artemis, Sep 22, 2021.

1. Artemis

Artemis i, an asexual moron

I got NIMS certified in manual machining, CNC machine operating, working on CNC programming, and took a CPT course while I was at it for funsies

So

That's where I've been

Three 8-week courses, 40 hours a week plus online work and homework, equivalent to a year-long course each, back to back to back, to finally end in late October/early November (due to heavy covid absences it might get extended if needed) ((the CPT was a separate thing I took simultaneously because I'm a hyperfixated nerd))

... I don't have a lot of spare thoughts because I am TIRED af all the time but I love it and it seems like a thing i will want a thingy thing threadblog for in my ~ADVENTURES~

So like... machining... is really cool... 's pretty neat... yep

Thanks for coming to my tedtalk everyone

• Winner x 6
    • Like x 1
  2. HonestlyVan

HonestlyVan a very funny person who never tells jokes

Eyyy fellow machinist, I got my vocational degree last spring in a nine-month course (that, uh, for school aged people would usually take three years, I was dead tired the entire time from cramming) and yes, it is a very neat job. I wish I could have gone into manual machining but atm I'm working as setup machinist for a small-parts mill instead. Maybe in three years, we'll see

What's your favourite *thing* with machining? Mine is probably doing finish turning on cast/cut parts by hand.

(Also what's CPT?, for some reason that acronym brings up nothing metal-related in my brain =_=) )

• Winner x 3
  3. Artemis

Honestly my absolute favourite thing is manually making a part and then measuring it and seeing the caliper's be *dead on* it's so satisfying

CPT is not tech metal, it's manufacturing, sorry! Certified Production Technician! A crash course in OSHA, electrical, hydraulics, production ideologies, maintenance, etc

• Informative x 2
    • Winner x 1