How to get anywhere without qualifications

Discussion in 'General Advice' started by PotteryWalrus, Jun 13, 2018.

1. PotteryWalrus

PotteryWalrus halfway hideous and halfway sweet

Basically what the title says.

It looks like I'm about to fail yet another course - all I ever seem to do is fail them

If anyone can tell me that there might be other ways to get into my chosen field (animal care, animal husbandry, zoology, mostly) with getting the stupid fucking bits of paper I'm so fucking hopeless at obtaining

That would help me massively right now

2. seebs' mom

seebs' mom Yes, really!

I have no experience in any of those fields, but I know it must be disappointing to get no replies, so I hope you'll accept some very general comments.

Those three areas are likely to have very different entry requirements and possible alternative paths. States (or countries, you don't say where you're from) have varying licensing laws, and different kinds of jobs have varying expectations of formal requirements. (You don't need a journalism degree to work as a journalist, or even a college degree, though in practice most journalists have one.) You might try, if you aren't doing it now, collecting separate dossiers on jobs in each of those fields; what are the formal requirements, what can you find out about the informal requirements, can you identify people working in those fields who don't meet what are (or are now) the formal requirements for the jobs they are doing , and find out how they got there? Those are narrower questions, and so perhaps easier to answer than the broad one you asked in your thread title.

You can think about broader questions, too. I don't know what courses you are failing, or why, but is there a way to get help with that? Is there counseling or tutoring help available? Can you identify other stresses in your life that make studying harder?