So I've been thinking about getting into computer stuff...

Discussion in 'General Advice' started by liminal, Jun 11, 2015.

1. liminal

liminal I'm gonna make it through this year if it kills me

I know, I know. Extremely broad title. But I was watching videos the other day of dudes wrecking computers with viruses for shits and giggles and it crossed my mind that I spend a lot of time on the computer, I generally find them a little interesting.

However I never would have considered it a remote possibility for me to learn how to do things involving computers, be it program or physical repairs/building.

Why? Well, I don't find things involving machines as opposed to living systems very interesting.

and also? pretty bad at math. Or, at least I thought I was. I am not very good at things like memorizing equations, didn't memorize my times tables until I was in middle school, barely remember important numbers. But I've taken math classes in college and I am basically at the same level as a lot of people? And I can make good grades if I dedicate enough time to it. Shockingly enough it's the only class I've ever gotten a 100 on a test.

But then I read stuff where programmers talk and it seems more like a language than math. I may be bad with numbers but I am pretty good at things involving language.

Sorry if this is turning into a ramble or anything. I've just been trying to do research on what jobs will play nice with my specific brainweird issues and "computers!" seems to be what keeps coming up and I've always been really dismissive of the idea. I still want to get my bio/psych degree because that's what I'm interested in (plus I already have credits in those subjects where I've never taken a comp sci class) but it might be interesting to teach myself some stuff. There are just 50 million resources on the internet and I can't tell the good from the bad so any advice would be good :(

2. seebs

seebs Benevolent Dictator

A thing I should point out: