Starting ADD Medication

Discussion in 'General Advice' started by Socratease, Nov 8, 2017.

1. Socratease

Socratease Well-Known Member

So I got diagnosed with ADD (which I'm already questioning despite being certain enough of it to pursue a diagnosis in the first place thanks brain) and I got prescribed Concerta. When I went to the pharmacy to claim it the pharmacist offered a cheaper alternative that I was told is identical to Concerta, called Methylphenidate Sandoz, and I accepted (I should have asked what the exact price difference was. I'm kicking myself for that now - I'm willing to spend a lot more for peace of mind)

Anyway, for the folks out there that take ADD medication - how do you know if it works? I took the first one a few hours ago and I forgot that I am extremely bad at telling whether meds are working or not. Is it even supposed to work straight away? I have never done this before.

(I do plan to call my psychiatrist tomorrow and ask if I fucked up by accepting the alternative)

2. Birdy

Birdy so long

Methylphenidate is Concerta, Concerta is the same chemical with a brand name

You were offered what’s called a generic. It’s equivalent to the brand name in every way (this is required by law) except cheaper

• Agree x 2
  3. Verily

Verily surprised Xue Yang peddler

I haven't tried Concerta, but I have a lot of experience with drugs in that class. I'm wearing a Ritalin transdermal patch right now. Birdy is right about generics. There's absolutely nothing wrong with going with the cheaper option in this scenario.

I found a study about absorption of Concerta. They saw the first peak at 3.3 hours after administration and the second, bigger one at 6 hours. That sort of thing usually varies by person at least somewhat, so your results may not be exactly the same.