SU/Nerdy Jewelry Making (help i'm obsessed)

Discussion in 'Make It So' started by PotteryWalrus, Jan 24, 2016.

1. PotteryWalrus

PotteryWalrus halfway hideous and halfway sweet

So, I've recently started on making necklaces - and eventually other jewelry - based on characters and songs from Steven Universe. (Ebay is a great help in sourcing cheap gemstone beads, although ofc I'm a newb when it comes to stones and I guess I just have to rely on the honesty of the seller for if they're legit or not. There's also a really good bead store in my nearest city, but they're much more expensive and it takes me a lot of spoons to get there.)

This is the first one that I've finished so far, a really simple piece based off the regular version theme song -
    [​IMG]

It's kind of a prototype, but the weird twisty wire thing was supposed to represent Rose/Steven's gem (the pale stone in the centre is a rose quartz). I'm not 100% satisfied, but doing the shield at that size was too fiddly for my spoons at the time. Anyway, going outwards from the symbol is (round) Garnets, Amethyst (points) and (freshwater) Pearls, ending with rose quartz again to represent Steven.

I'm not entirely satisfied with rose quartz as a representation of those two characters, though, since the gem in question in canon is a much deeper pink than I've been able to find in that stone IRL. Maybe pink tourmaline? Or would that mess with the direct symbolism, do you guys think?

I'm also making some sculpey beads for more mixed-colour concepts. Here are some I did this morning but have yet to fire I mean bake. (I'm so used to regular clay nowadays, but it takes so long.)

[​IMG]